Trump’s revised immigration ban

#Trump #President #US #immigrationBan #Muslim

President Trump signed a new 90-day ban on the issuance of new visas for citizens of six Muslim-majority countries. Also, the refugee program will be suspended temporarily while also reducing the cap of 110,000 refugees a year (set by Obama) to 50,000 refugees a year.

The six countries include Iran, Sudan, Somalia, Libya, Syria and Yemen, sames as the countries in the first travel ban, excluding Iraq. The new guidelines are far more specific and block the issuance of only new visas (this also includes people who need to reapply for their visa).

The order also details specific sets of people who would be able to apply for case-by-case waivers to the order, including those previously admitted to the United States for “a continuous period of work, study, or other long-term activity,” those with “significant business or professional obligations” and those seeking to visit or live with family.

Read the full article here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s